I now have my threads for Chinese Flower

I have not done any stitching at all so far today as I have been watching on the BBC online the terrible earthquake that has just devastated Japan with its accompanying tsunami. Absolutely terrible! It makes us realize that we just never know when and where these catastrophes will strike around the world. 

Meanwhile in my own little stitching world, I have slowly been gathering things that I will need for Trish Burr’s Chinese Flower project. Since yesterday afternoon, I am in possession of all my Anchor floss threads, all 46 different colors and shades.

In order to stitch Chinese Flower, we do not have to purchase the Anchor ones and can instead substitute them with the DMC ones, as we have all received a sheet listing both color numbers. 

Trish said that there would be only very small differences in shades with some colors if we were to use DMC compared to her Anchor ones. 

It just happens that I already have the whole range of colors with DMC floss, so I could have just gone ahead and use those, but after thinking about it a bit I made the decision to go ahead and purchase the Anchor floss threads just the same.

With needle painting we really don’t need much of any one color, but we certainly do need lots of different colors and shades. For me, by purchasing a few here and and a few there, I will slowly start building up my Anchor floss thread collection, one project at a time.

I have managed to take two photos in order to be able to show you all the 46 Anchor threads necessary for this project.

Next thing on my agenda now with this project is to start watching Trish’s DVD called “The long & the short of it: A needle painting workshop“. There are two discs inside the box. 

The first one is called “Demonstrations” which is a tutorial about

  • Materials, preparation & color
  • Basic long & short stitch
  • Long & short stitch for curved shapes
  • Long & short stitch for five different shapes
  • Fur & feathers

and the second one is called “Projects” and contains

  • Seven projects plus step by step instructions
  • Materials, preparation & sources
  • Stitch glossary

Watching it will keep me busy for a little while as I have no doubt that I will want and “need” to watch certain sections many times.

Hope I can detach myself long enough from watching the news today and manage to do a little bit of stitching or at the very least start watching this DVD.

So long for now and have a great day!

Pierrette =^..^=

About lovetostitch99

Love to stitch, read, listen to music, hike
This entry was posted in Needle Painting, Trish Burr and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I now have my threads for Chinese Flower

  1. Terry says:

    I too have been watching the Tsunami and earthquake in Japan and it is horrific as when nature strikes we are all powerless and just hope that it never effects us.

    I am still waiting for my DVD to arrive from Trish and thought it had arrived this morning but instead it was a package from Australia with some goodies for me to make something special which is me trying to get ahead of my Christmas gifts this year.

    In the meantime I am stitching on one of Tanya Berlin’s needlepainting projects who along with Trish and Helen M Stevens creates some beautiful and amazing projects which are all available for us all. ( I know there are some other great designers out in our needlepainting stitching world and sorry if I have forgotten to name them)

    WOW that is a lot of colours for such a smallish project, I myself have always preferred Anchor over DMC as have found they seem to have a slightly better sheen to them and also do not seem to knot up, however DMC in the USA seem to cost a fraction of the cost we in the UK have to pay for them unless you can find them on Ebay which makes the cost a lot less than purchasing from my local store.

    Terry

  2. Hi Terry,

    So far I have done only one needle painting project and it was a Tanya Berlin one. Remember? The little purple pansy and it was fun needle painting it.

    Can’t recall which one of hers you are currently working on as I know that you have a few kits of hers in your to do pile just waiting their turn to be stitched.

    Like you, I also love Helen M. Stevens’ projects. I believe you have already stitched one of hers while I still have not. Shame on me. Talk about procrastinating! I am such a big one at times.

    All those three ladies are wonderfully talented in this particular field.

    Pierrette =^..^=

  3. Mary Corbet says:

    I’m excited to see this project develop, Pierrette! It’s a beautiful piece – I’m sure you’ll do a great job on it! I’m somewhat sorry I didn’t join in on the class, but too many other projects are in the works right now. Next time!

    I prefer Anchor to DMC, though the colors of Anchor seem a little muted compared to DMC. But overall, I think Anchor stitches a lot better – it doesn’t tend to knot up or pill as much.

    • Hi Mary,

      Thanks for the vote of confidence 🙂

      I was surprised to see how quickly the class filled in, but at the time I had no idea about how big or how small the class would be. Twenty students is not a lot when we think about all the stitchers who might have been interested in getting the first time around but it will be an ideal number for those of us who will be taking the class.

      Mary, we will all try to be on our best behavior with Trish so that she will want to teach many many more online classes and you will get your opportunity too (big smile).

      I will pay closer attention to the Anchor threads this time around and see how well they behave in comparison to the DMC ones and report back.

      Thanks for stopping by,

      Pierrette =^..^=

  4. Pat says:

    The DVD is spectacular and you will certainly do this piece justice! I can’t wait to see!

  5. pamparr says:

    I have always used DMC, never thought to try Anchor thread. I did order the Anchor thread for this class. Will have to pay attention and see which one I like better. Truth be told, I will start collecting the Anchor thread because you can never have enough shades of purple. 🙂

    PamP

  6. Madame Purl says:

    I found out just a wee bit too late to catch this class. I signed up for her email updates this time, so I won’t miss out in a few months on the next class. 🙂 I can’t wait to see your progress.

Leave a comment