Trish’s Chinese Flower Painting, lesson 1

For those of you who are wondering when, if ever, I will post about Trish Burr’s Chinese Flower Painting, I intend to work on it today and complete lesson 1.

During my numerous attempts, I managed to do the short and long stitches ok, but I was not happy about my shading results, missing the mark a bit due to the fact that we have to use 5 different shades in a relatively small space and so far I have always ended up with not enough dark colors and too much of the light ones, but I will get it in the end or will die trying, like a good friend of me always says 🙂

I am including a photo of my first attempt, which I did not complete when it became quite obvious to me that I was off the mark with the shading and just did not have enough room to keep adding shades.

As you can see from this photo, I stopped working on the first bud before arriving at the beginning of the sepals as my shading was off.

I have tried a few additional times after that and ended up ripping it, just not happy with the end results. When things like that happens to me when I just don’t get it for whatever reason(s), I usually try to take a break from it and let my brain do a bit of leisurely thinking about it.

During that time I had the opportunity to wonder why I was having so much problem with it as I have done one project with Tanya Berlin (my first time with such technique) and do not recall having such problems at all. Here is the photo of Tanya’s purple pansy.

Looking at the photo again with fresh eyes, I can see that the short and long stitches on the darker petals could have been a bit more staggered. If I were to do it again, I would no doubt do it differently. I was too hooked up on the short and long bit and not thinking enough about the staggered part of it.

I think that in the pansy project, things were easier as the petals were a bit bigger with less color changes. I will have to get Tanya’s instructions out again and have a look at them.

Using Trish’s DVD for this current project helps a lot, but it is not exactly the same as if she was actually stitching the current project. It is more a general information DVD where she is showing us how to go about stitching short and long stitches.

When I wrote Trish for help about my shading problem, she said that in reality I need to find space for 4 shades and then the last one (darker shade) I just add a few stitches over to give some additional shading, new information which should have made things easier for me but for some reason have not, until now that is.

Anyway, I will give it another go today and I have more or less decided to live with the results, good or bad. Let’s hope that they will be good. I hate bad results, don’t you?

Well, better get at it. Will have another viewing of Trish’s DVD and then hopefully it will be a breeze this time around.

Will be back in a few days with the results and then later with Trish’s comments.

Pierrette =^..^=

About lovetostitch99

Love to stitch, read, listen to music, hike
This entry was posted in Needle Painting, Tanja Berlin, Trish Burr. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Trish’s Chinese Flower Painting, lesson 1

  1. Rachel says:

    Two things that might help:
    1 Draw faint guidelines for your colour changes. It will help you space them.
    2 Remember that each new row needs to go deep into the previous row, to help with the shading.

    • Hi Rachel,

      Good point there 🙂

      I think that I am feeling quite frustrated right now as normally things go pretty smoothly for me, but this is not the case with that shading.

      Will give it another go – can’t remember how many times now or maybe I just don’t want to remember (big grin). Rip! Rip! Rip! I am now pretty good at this.

      Thanks for the tips!

      Pierrette =^..^=

  2. terry says:

    What I find if trying to fit several colours into a small space that the darkest colour often has the least amount of stitches and they can be intermingled with the other colours so that you do not have any lines where the colours can be clearly seen to start and end

  3. Madame Purl says:

    Hmmm… I was thinking of signing up for her next class, but I’m a beginner. I have read through her books and watched the DVD. What do you think for a total beginner? I’d hate to spend this much and not get it done.

    • I will be in a better position to answer your question(s) a bit later when I have stitched a portion of the design.

      For now, all I can say is that I wrote to Trish yesterday asking for help with my shading problems and this morning when I got up and came to my computer, help had arrived under the form of additional instructions with photographs, showing me in even more details the different steps needed in order to make that shading realistic. The rest of the group also received the same information.

      From what I have seen so far from a few stitchers in my group, the stitching looks good. I think it is fair to say that we all have work to do in the shading department, but that will come with time. These additional instructions that we have all received this morning should help us move ahead more easily with this issue.

      Hope this answers your question(s) a bit. As I said at the beginning of my response to you, I will be in a much better position to talk about my own experience when I am further along.

      Pierrette =^..^=

      • Madame Purl says:

        Thanks so much for the detailed reply. I can’t wait to see you stitch it more. I figure the worse case is that I can take it if it’s offered later in the year. That will give me time for some more practice, watch the video again and work down some of my other projects.

Leave a Reply

