Boxes: What to do with them

While I have kept myself busy stitching on other projects, I have been thinking about what kind of embroidery and designs that I could stitch for these two little boxes.

The box on the left is a little oval Shaker Pincushion box from Sudberry House. It measures approximately 5 inches by 3 inches. It contains detailed instructions for the finishing once the stitching has been completed.

The other one on the left is also lovely. It was made in the UK by Framecraft and measures only 3 inches in circumference and small trinkets could be stored inside or anything else a person prefers. I have been contemplating some stumpwork project for it. I think the size of the box would be ideal for it as it is not too big nor too small and would showcase it nicely.

As for the oval Shaker pincushion one, I am inclined to go with some surface embroidery around the circomference of the pincushion box, leaving the middle section bare so that needles can be inserted in its center.

So for a little while now, whenever I have been having a few spare moments, I have been going through my Inspirations magazines and making note of any projects that could fit my needs. I still have quite a bit of magazines to go through before I make a final decision.

It is fun to plan little projects like that which can easily be added later on to my list of current projects. I will keep you posted once I have arrived to some decisions, but in the meantime if you have any suggestions for me,  please share in the comment section. I can always use all the help I can get.

Another nasty day outside today with possible heavy thunderstorms predicted for this afternoon with the possibility of some hail and a couple of tornadoes thrown in for good measure. That should keep me fully awake (big grin).

Happy stitching to you all!

Pierrette =^..^=

About lovetostitch99

Love to stitch, read, listen to music, hike
This entry was posted in Boxes. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Boxes: What to do with them

  1. Moz says:

    Hi,
    I have just started following you blog, picked up via Trish Burr’s site.
    I absolutely love your work and am looking forward to your new projects.
    Happy stitching.
    Hugz
    Moz

  2. anne stradal says:

    Love that little Shaker box! Almost too pretty to stick pins in!

  3. Terry says:

    I think the little round box would look just so pretty as well as cute with a little stumpwork butterfly resting on it and the shaker box with stitched or maybe beaded little dainty flowers around the top

    • Hi Terry,

      A Stumpwork butterfly or perhaps a little dragonfly as I have always wanted to make one.

      As for the shaker box, you have given me the idea that there is also the option of stitching something in the center and leave the surrounding area unstitched for the needles. I was also thinking of little flowers.

      Thanks for all the ideas 🙂

      Pierrette =^..^=

  4. Rachel says:

    You’ve just reminded me of a project I did many years ago for a Framecraft pendant. I’ve worn it a lot and it has stayed sturdily together for all that time, so I’m sure whatever you do with it will continue to look stunning for years!

    • Hi Rachel,

      I agree with you as I have also purchased other products from them in order to do some finishing and I have been very happy with them as they were made very well.

      Pierrette =^..^=

  5. Pat says:

    A beaded dragonfly is what I saw for one of them….quick easy yet elegant!

  6. Eleanor Roome says:

    Dear Pierrette
    How are you – busy by what I have just seen! – you are such an inspiration! Sorry have not written anything for a bit but have been really busy – also had the arrival of a new grandson this week so very exciting. Have been trying to get on with the course work but am not finding it easy getting the blending right but I soldier on. It looks so simple in the DVD but not quite so simple when you try to do it yourself but I really want to get this technique whacked! As for your little boxes I am so fond of the little flowers done in french knots as it is so delicate for a small item like that or even some ribbon flowers. I am sure you will come up with something beautiful. Have a wonderful weekend.
    Luv
    El
    x

    • Hi El,

      Yes, quite busy all the time as I am always many balls in the air, sort of

      I am so glad for you about the arrival of your grandson, such a happy event!

      I agree with you about the course work. The thing with me is finding enough space to add the 5 different shades as it is rather small and I like to have room, so an adjustment needs to be made.

      One of the thing that I have also been doing lately is checking up my magazines for ideas for my little boxes. I found many designs to choose from for my round box and I think I have finally found something for the Shaker oval box as it was a bit more tricky to find something that would be just right for that one. I now need to find the time to work on both of them.

      I will keep plugging away and it will all be done.

      Have a great weekend too!

      Pierrette =^..^=

Leave a Reply

