Anasazi Dream: Beginning to add stitches inside the outlines

Oh, I am telling you it has been very difficult to stitch on this project so far because of too many distractions in my life right now.

First, the weather has been really great in the last few days and the pull to go outside in the garden and enjoy that nice weather has just been too irresistable for me not to give in. 

Then my attention has also been pulled by my new online class with Trish. I keep thinking of all its possibilities for me, thinking about projects that I have been wanting to do but never have up to now. 

I have still managed though to do a bit of stitching just the same on Anasazi Dream (a needlepoint project designed by Carole Lake).

Just stitching the outline itself has required quite a bit of time as I wanted to make absolutely certain that I would not find myself with either one thread too many or one thread short, so I ended up spending extra time double and triple checking every outline I stitched.

Carole’s instructions are very good and she lists for us how many stitches should be here and there, so all we need to do is pay close attention to her instructions and we are home free.

Today I have three photos for you. The first one shows the two bands, one on each side, that looks like an “M” or a “W” depending on which side they are.

Now, if you look at the photo upclose, you will notice that one has been completed (the one at the bottom) and the upper one has not, as I wanted to show you the difference between the two.

This second photo shows a close-up of the unfinished “M” band. The embellishment stitch in between the two rows has not been yet added.

And finally this third photo shows the “M” band with a row of backstitches in between the two lines of stitches.

The threads used for this section are Watercolours Arabian Nights (love that name) and Kreinik braid #085 (green) and the outline was Kreinik #041 (lots of different sparkling colors in that thread – very pretty up close)

I will now go and add the Kreinik braid to the unfinished “M” band and after that I will move on to some other sections. 

I also want to read Trish’s printed booklet, the one I received by mail yesterday. I have not had time to do that yet, but I think this will be ideal reading to bring with me outside in the garden for a little well deserved rest.

See you all later!

Pierrette =^..^=

About lovetostitch99

Love to stitch, read, listen to music, hike
This entry was posted in Carole Lake, Needlepoint and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Anasazi Dream: Beginning to add stitches inside the outlines

  1. anne stradal says:

    The colors in “Arabian Nights” are gorgeous!

  2. Terry says:

    I too think that the colours in the Arabian Nights are beautiful and the name is also rather lovely and is coming along well, I too have been rather distracted with now stitching my little mouse and also with my new sewing machine that I have just got and when I think that the old one a Jones that is over 40 years old but still going strong but just too heavy for me to lift and move around and if my new machine does the same then it will outlive me ROFL

    • Hi Terry,

      How is the little mouse coming along? I have seen your little squirrel and it was wonderful.

      Have you tried your new sewing machine yet? ……. and if you have, how pleased are you with it?

      I now have my husband pushing me to start shopping for one 🙂

      Pierrette =^..^=

  3. Rachel says:

    It’s going well so far!

    • The outline is the worst as you can’t afford to make mistakes. After that, usually things go pretty well. I say usually because there is always that exception where nothing seems to work well 😦

      Pierrette =^..^=

Leave a Reply

