The Pergola

I remember when I first laid eyes on this book called French Knot Pictures by Christine Harris that I felt right away that this was something that I wanted to try. As soon as I got the book, I went through it right away and looked at all her projects. There are ten different projects in her book making it hard for me to decide which one I liked the best.

Christine Harris’ book projects are ideal in a sense for anyone who wants to stitch one as they are all worked in miniature, often 3″ by 2″, but of course I had to select a bigger one, “The Pergola” measuring approximately 6″ wide by 5″ high. She had a couple of miniature scenes with a lovely tree in them which tempted me tremendously, but my eyes kept coming back to the Pergola so in the end opted for that one. I think she says that a small miniature takes approximately 15 hours of work to complete. Mine of course will take longer, but who cares when you are having fun, right?

In her book, Christine explains very well how to proceed in order to achieve shading, depth, dimension and perspective. She says that most threads that we have can be used  and as it does not take that much thread in a miniature scene, those leftover threads that we all have in big quantities can easily be put to good use, which makes these projects rather inexpensive. Fir my first project I am using all DMC floss threads. Things will be different for future projects though.

In her book, Christine Harris suggest that we work these little projects in a hoop. Since mine is of a bigger size, I decided to put my fabric on stretcher bars instead. I feel that I can get the fabric tighter this way.

Here is a first photograph showing what has been stitched so far.

As you can see from this photo, the first thing I had to do was to draw the outline of the design on a piece of fabric. In my case I use some white Calico fabric but I could have used something else. She says to use a 2B lead pencil with a sharp point for transferring the design.

After the project has been completed, it will have to be laundered. This is always a bit of a scary proposition for me as I am always concerned that it will after the end result.

I have taken a couple of close-up photos from different perspective of the stitched area. Here is the first one

followed by another one of the same area but using a different perspective

The way I am proceeding with this project is that I am stitching each area in an orderly fashion as Christine has numbered all of them in her instructions and after I have completed all the little sections, I will then come back and add a few French Knots here and there to make the garden scene appear more natural looking.

If this project goes well, I have another one that I have had in mind since I saw this photograph somewhere and saved it. I think it would be just lovely using French Knots to create it and the colors are absolutely magnificent.

The photo is called “California flowers” Isn’t it just absolutely fabulous? I can see so many possibilities with it and as Christine says in her book, it is up to us to decide how big or small we make our projects. I am keeping this photo for inspiration for a later project. Perhaps some of you may beat me to it. Even if we all decided to use this photo to create our own miniature scene, there would not be a single one that would be exactly the same.

That is all for this post, more later as the work progresses on this project. Other projects coming up too.

Good day to all,

Pierrette =^..^=

About lovetostitch99

Love to stitch, read, listen to music, hike
This entry was posted in Christine Harris, French Knot Pictures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Pergola

  1. Terry says:

    Its coming along really well and looking lovely and reminds me of my little cottage pictures where I spent many hours with so many French Knots, but like you do not mind doing them at all not like some people who run a mile at the thought of them

    Terry

  2. anne stradal says:

    Like you, making French knots is second nature to me. Why is it that some folks hate them so?

    • Hi Anne!

      Some stitches may appear more difficult than they really are and have used them on many projects and they always make a nice little statement, all by themselves.

      Pierrette =^..^=

  3. Pat says:

    What a lovely piece!

  4. It’s looking awesome! Wow, definately take some time to get done but will be beautiful when completed.

  5. Hi Thelma,

    I don’t mind the work and time when it is a piece that I truly enjoy working on and this is one of those.

    Pierrette =^..^=

  6. Maryvonne says:

    I have the same book. I had seen it advertised and I hunted high and low to get a copy and I love it. Did three of the smaller gardens, including the one with the tree that you mention. Had lots of fun making them and the result was very satisfying. The first reaction every single person I showed it to was to touch. I must say it is very tempting. I am sure you will have fun with the pergola – looks like it will be a beauty, think I will have a go next.

    • I wish I could see the projects you have completed. They must be lovely.

      It was really difficult for me to pick the one I would stitch. My husband seemed to favor one of the little nature scene with a tree and I really liked it too, but the pergola had a bigger pull on me. The next French Knot project will probably be with a tree in the scene. It is lovely and smaller in size too, so less time to make 🙂

      Pierrette =^..^=

Leave a Reply

